160 Gallons Of Gin
Collieston, a former thriving fishing village 15 miles north of Aberdeen, has a harbour set in a coastline of rocky cliffs riddled with caves and has a fascinating history.
In the 5th Century St Ternan, “The Bishop of the Picts’, arrived to convert the resident Picts to Christianity. In the 16 – 18th Centuries it was a busy fishing village where the fishing yawls were small enough to be pulled up off onto the shore. The village became known for its “Collieston Speldings” a delicacy produced from salted and sun-dried haddock and whiting which was popular throughout Britain at the time.
In the 18th Century it was renowned for smuggling. Probably the best-known tale from this era relates to an incident in December 1798. On the 19th the lugger Crooked Mary landed 16 ankers (160 gallons) of Dutch Gin. Following a tip-off a local farmer, his brother and 3 locals were apprehended by the excise men and the notorious smuggler Philip Kennedy was killed by a cutlass blow to the head. His gravestone can be found in the local church yard which also contains the tombs of the Earls and Countesses of Errol.
The garments used are from a selection of our brands with Maratime ties such as 1st PAT-RN ; Arpenteur and Barena. Headwear by Paa, deck shoes by Wakouwa and the Roll-top backpack by Filson.